The Waiting Room

So I’m still pregnant. The baby is fully cooked, and I have become completely, COMPLETELY obsessed with wondering whether I am in labour or not. It’s shocking, and very disturbing.

My emotions are in tatters; I spent last Friday careening between laughing manically and ugly crying while my mother and sister looked on, completely helpless. The episode was prompted by a woman where I get my eyebrows done not giving me an appointment when I wanted it. I mean, COME ON. The crying leaked into Saturday when the fella’s Mum called over and I burst into tears for NO REASON WHATSOEVER, all the while assuring her that I REALLY AM QUITE HYSTERICAL. As if she couldn’t tell.

Yesterday my tear ducts dried up, thank the lord. The fella and I went for an early morning walk to try to get things moving… the only thing we realised is that we have eaten so many packets of chocolate biscuits over the last nine months that it makes a simple walk pretty hard. Yes. It’s true.

So, in between monitoring the mild periody cramps I’m getting (for the last WEEK) and frantically googling “does a contraction feel like….” I am completely demented. Completely. I am hoping that the little fella will arrive in the next few days, but my instincts are so shot at this point that I don’t trust myself at all. AT ALL.

One thing I do know is that on Friday I am due to have an internal examination by the cruel lady doctor. If my son loves me at all he will arrive before this – stupid I know, since I will be going through a much more invasive experience pushing him out, but I really don’t want her interfering down there. So pray people, PRAY that the little fella fancies a birthday this week. It would make a would-be Mammy very VERY happy indeed.

About Ciara McDonnell

Ouch My Fanny Hurts was born in the late stages of my first pregnancy. I was sick and tired of everyone going on and ON about how brilliant it is to be pregnant, when actually, lots of it was quite crap really. And, my fanny hurt a lot. So, I decided to tell the truth about my experience while I was pregnant, and the journey I have been on since, as our little fella grew a little bigger, and we brought our second son into the world in what turned out to be fairly scary circumstances. It’s my story, and I am delighted to share it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Waiting Room

  1. Susan says:

    Been there, done that, bought 4 t-shirts. He will be here soon – and I will miss all your pregnancy blogs when he arrives. Unless you plan to expand this to new-motherhood! Please do! Can’t wait to hear your news and birth story… xxx

  2. Anna says:

    Won’t be long now Ciara! I have my fingers crossed for you that he makes an appearance this week – but what will we do for laughs without your blog? I hope that you’ll be keeping everyone up to date on your adventures in new motherhood, once that begins! xox

  3. Aoife Mc says:

    You can do it Ciars you complete legend! He’ll be worth the wait! xxx

  4. Sasha says:

    hi lovely lady, i too have enjoyed reading your preggy blog and will miss the little giggle you give me every time i read a post. here is holding thumbs that the little one arrives soon. perhaps he’s waiting to be a valentines gift. big hugs S

  5. Aoife C says:

    ooooh, i just heard you’ve gone into labour… i hope it happedned before that lady doctor invaded you! good luck happy birthday kid!

Leave a Reply

