The return of (my)self

This time a year ago I was frantically planning a top secret birthday party for the fella before we went off to Rome for a romantical adventure. It was BRILLIANT. He got a massive fright at the party (woot), and then we had the best holiday of our lives, wandering about the city, drinking prosecco, talking about when we have kids and generally being all face strokery and hand holdy. GORGEOUS.

Now that the little fella is a whopping three weeks old, and feeling all nostalgic for the fun and frolics of yesteryear, I have decided that THE CONFINEMENT IS OVER. Basically, from the minute I got up the duff I became a hermit. Not because I felt I had to – not AT ALL – but because I wanted to stay in my house, petting the fella and smearing food all over my face. Literally. For like, ten months.

So, the day before yesterday I packed up the little fella and off we went for an adventure. We ended up in Woodies. Yes, Woodies. AND. I nearly had a shopping induced orgasm. I kid you not. It was like I had arrived at Santa’s grotto for the shopping deprived. I filled up the buggy basket with an assortment of delights (new frying pan, a handy basket thing for my shopping line to keep your pegs in, some non energy efficient light bulbs) and careened around the store, whooping like a maniac at bar stools (white, shiny, impractical but FABULOUS) and stroking lampshades with impassioned glee.

I am back people, and so is my spendy-ness. Tomorrow, I venture to a REAL shopping centre, where people wear clothes not covered in baby vom and who whiff vaguely of seedy poo, but fancy clothes, and BOOTS. Luckily enough, the little fella reacts very well to a bit of retail therapy. I had given him a few dry runs in the supermarket to see how he fared, but he finds it all very boring and heads straight to sleep, looking all cute and delicious, which makes me all melty inside.

Of course, being back means so much more than feeling my spendy roots again; I am feeling romantic thoughts towards the fella. Not, in a if you really love me you’ll change that stinking nappy way either. In a, ooooooh, I’d quite like to stroke your face way. This is fantastic news for me, because a new baby can pretty much wipe out any face strokery feelings in a mere instant. When it’s 9 o’clock at night and you’re both counting the minutes til the ten o’clock feed because you know that sleep is the reward on the other side, the LAST thing you want to do is kiss and cuddle. Seriously. But, as the days go by it has become apparent to both me AND the fella, that some face strokery may be on the way. And I’m not going to lie – it is a pretty exciting concept.

ps I am so SOOOO excited to be a finalist in the Irish Blog Awards Best Personal Blog category – it is a right honour indeed. Also, while on Newstalk the other night talking with Orla Barry, I was interviewed along with Nick McGiveny who writes a brilliant blog called Our Jacob, about his son (Jacob) who has Down Syndrome – you can check it out here, and you should:  http://downsdad.wordpress.com

About Ciara McDonnell

Ouch My Fanny Hurts was born in the late stages of my first pregnancy. I was sick and tired of everyone going on and ON about how brilliant it is to be pregnant, when actually, lots of it was quite crap really. And, my fanny hurt a lot. So, I decided to tell the truth about my experience while I was pregnant, and the journey I have been on since, as our little fella grew a little bigger, and we brought our second son into the world in what turned out to be fairly scary circumstances. It’s my story, and I am delighted to share it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The return of (my)self

  1. Nathalie says:

    WELL DONE lady, and so well deserved. Really can’t wait to see the little guy. And you too of course 🙂

Leave a Reply

