The soppy one (apologies)

Last night I plucked the little fella from his cot in the middle of the night so that I could stare at him in the darkness for a little while. I told the fella that he was crying but he wasn’t – I just wanted to hug him. In two weeks my little fella – the person I grew from seed – is six months old. I can’t cope with the fact that half a YEAR has gone by since he arrived in a blaze of glory and yet at the same time it feels like he has always been here.

Like I was saying in my last post, having a baby is NOT easy, but it is totally worth it. The last six months have showcased the most extreme sides of the fella and my relationship. We have been so far down it seemed impossible to climb back out, and then the little fella smiled or did something so awe-inspiring that all our problems seemed completely trivial and totally ridiculous in one second. Right now, on the other side of all the whispered rows (“I have been up FOR THE WHOLE NIGHT with the baby while you snored your head off” “Well, why didn’t you WAKE me?!”) our little family is by no means perfect, but it works perfectly for us.

The three of us spent the weekend in our pajamas, watching films and playing with the little fella’s toys. He sleeps through the night now but usually at about 4am he lets the tiniest whimper and either the fella or I bolt from the bed, lift him ever so carefully from his cot and snuggle him between us in the bed. It’s not because he needs it – it’s because we do. When we see those eyes flickering open for the first time on a new day, blinking his sleep away and smiling his first heart-stopping grin, we are watching a miracle, each and every day.

About Ciara McDonnell

Ouch My Fanny Hurts was born in the late stages of my first pregnancy. I was sick and tired of everyone going on and ON about how brilliant it is to be pregnant, when actually, lots of it was quite crap really. And, my fanny hurt a lot. So, I decided to tell the truth about my experience while I was pregnant, and the journey I have been on since, as our little fella grew a little bigger, and we brought our second son into the world in what turned out to be fairly scary circumstances. It’s my story, and I am delighted to share it.
This entry was posted in New baby, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The soppy one (apologies)

  1. Lucy says:

    That’s such a lovely blog Ciara! I can relate to every single thing x

  2. Sarahjane says:

    Aww Ciara, I’ve had my little baby in between your posts (in June) and everything you write makes sense to me now! Glad you are back, completely u understand why it took you a while to write again, I barely find time for a poo these days lol x

  3. yay!! What flavour is your baby? I know it’s soooooooo tiring in the beginning but the four to six month period makes up for it – it is Heartmelting. Hope you’re doing well xxx

    • Sarahjane says:

      A pinky girly flavour 😀
      Oh lord, notice the times of both of my posts haha! I didn’t even know these times existed a couple of months ago…

      • I know! 4am is one of my favourite times of the day now – just before the world wakes up… But obvs I would swap it for sleep, OBVIOUSLY. yay to your daughter, yay! Xx

  4. karina says:

    Oh we get the 4am whimper too and then theres three in the bed….favourite part of the day!

  5. Fionnuala says:

    Ciara, just came across this today, the day my daughter is 6mths old! That first smile of the day really does melt your heart, even though she sleeps in her own room. And when the ‘on duty’ parent brings her to the ‘off duty’ parent there is the hugest smile again as a great start for all our days! Great blog…. Long may you continue!

Leave a Reply

