A letter to The Little Fella

My darling son,

Today, you are one year old. You woke at half past four to stroke my face and burble at me, as if you knew what a special day it was. My life began, properly, a year ago today, when I learned how truly deep love can be.

Your ability to appreciate every single thing, from a tiny crumb on the ground to the cat who slopes around our back garden every morning at the same time amazes and inspires me. Because of you, I stop and appreciate life, every day.

You have made me fall so in love with your father for so many more reasons than I could count. When I watch the two of you together on the couch, just relishing in each other’s company, I am home, and my heart is full.

Every day you learn some new trick that astounds me. This week, with the ease of someone far older than you, you pulled yourself up to standing and then looked around, as if waiting for applause.

Your toothy grin lights up a room, and somehow you manage to coax a smile out of even the grumpiest of people. That, my dear, is called charm – you have it in spades.

You’ve only been around a year and you’ve changed my life so very much. Thank you for choosing me to be your mother, it is the greatest gift I could ever receive, and one I will never stop thanking you for.

I love you, my darling son. Happy Birthday. x

About Ciara McDonnell

Ouch My Fanny Hurts was born in the late stages of my first pregnancy. I was sick and tired of everyone going on and ON about how brilliant it is to be pregnant, when actually, lots of it was quite crap really. And, my fanny hurt a lot. So, I decided to tell the truth about my experience while I was pregnant, and the journey I have been on since, as our little fella grew a little bigger, and we brought our second son into the world in what turned out to be fairly scary circumstances. It’s my story, and I am delighted to share it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A letter to The Little Fella

  1. Susan Bell Flavin says:

    Tears. Aw – happy birthday to You and the little fella – cause when you are a Mom you realise their birthdays are just as much yours and they are theirs.

  2. Hibernophile says:

    Aw, Ciara. Way to make us cry! I can’t wait to get to have this relationship, once and for all. Until then, I’m thoroughly enjoying living vicariously through you. xx

  3. Sarahjane says:

    Aww, that brought tears, that’s lovely

  4. Lee says:

    Happy Birthday Matthew! Beautifully written as always Ciara & congratulations & best of luck with baba no2, xx

  5. Stitches & Stretchmarks says:

    That’s a beautiful post. What a lucky little guy to have a great Mummy 🙂

  6. Pingback: To Matthew, on his second birthday | Ouch My Fanny Hurts!!!

Leave a Reply

