More than just a Mum

So, I was on a roll there for a short while. I was zipping posts together while the boys were both napping for half an hour in the morning, and then BAM. Michael found his voice, and decided that he wanted to be at his most vocal when Matthew was asleep, so now when I am supposed to be blogging, I am walking around the house whispering “SSSSHHHHHH! don’t wake your brother, PLEEEEEAAAASE”

So I’m sorry. I missed out on lots of stuff, like my Child Benefit post, which will be coming, my opinion on the Children’s Referendum, again, which will be coming, and updates on what’s going on around here.

Anyway, Kate over at Kate Takes 5 inspired me yesterday. She wrote a blog about how before we were Mums, we were women, and dynamic women at that. I really miss the makeup and the froofery and the USING MY BRAIN for something other than convincing my toddler that an eighteenth piece of chocolate of the day is a bad idea, and so, when she asked that we all put up a picture of us BEFORE babies, and celebrate the women that we still are, I thought it was fecking brilliant.

I have no digital pictures of my pre baby adventures. But I did have them. I travelled loads in my early twenties, and went to Australia on my own to escape my first big breakup (heartbreak on the other side of the world is far more appealing than having one here, let me tell you). I worked in Greece during my college holidays, and then, when I graduated, decided that I would be a proper grown up and got my first job writing on a magazine.

Since then, I’ve worked and I have PLAYED hard. It feels like it never happened, but this picture was taken at a time when I was so happy. I had just moved in with the fella, and had started work as Editor of Easy Food magazine. Really, it felt like life couldn’t get any better.

 

 

Working, hard

So, thanks Kate. You made me remember that there was life before babies. And there will be again. I have started freelancing again, and have my first two commissions (hurray!). Here’s to finding myself again, buried underneath the rubble of toy cars and trucks, I’m sure I am in there somewhere!

What were YOU before motherhood took over? Let us know xxx

About Ciara McDonnell

Ouch My Fanny Hurts was born in the late stages of my first pregnancy. I was sick and tired of everyone going on and ON about how brilliant it is to be pregnant, when actually, lots of it was quite crap really. And, my fanny hurt a lot. So, I decided to tell the truth about my experience while I was pregnant, and the journey I have been on since, as our little fella grew a little bigger, and we brought our second son into the world in what turned out to be fairly scary circumstances. It’s my story, and I am delighted to share it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to More than just a Mum

  1. Ah so glad you were inspired! And it’s great to know they have for lunch at the Easy Food offices ;). Now I think you need to find a scanner and write some posts on your travelling days. x

  2. Joanna says:

    Great to have your blog back on my reading list. I really liked this post.

  3. Caitriona says:

    I literally only podcastered a little on this yesterday. Before I was a mother. Hmmm difficult because I started being a step mother very many years ago but before I had the boys I was a PA.

  4. Firstly, I LOVE LOVE LOVE the name of your blog! Hilarious! Secondly, Creme Eggs – yummy!!

Leave a Reply

