Pockets filled with Joy

This week I am mostly robbing ideas off other bloggers I admire to try to lift me out of the writing rut I have been in for the last while.

Today’s comes from Dreaming Aloud, a blog I love, written by a woman who fills ME with joy through her writing.

So, what are these joy pockets I speak of? Well, they are little reasons to be grateful, from the mundane, to the massive. Here’s mine for this week:

My Mum.
My friend, my confidante, my constant support system. I know everyone thinks their Mum is the best one, but mine is, actually.

My M&M’s
Matthew, Michael, Mark. The three men in my life who bring me endless joy. These guys make my life worthwhile, but also fill it FULL of laughter. Like, all the time. They are constant fun zones. Crazy, shouty, FUN zones.

Specially Selected Shortbread from Aldi
I dipped an entire packet of this into one cup of coffee the other day. It is so delicious it is worthy of a post all by itself.

My online support network
Yes Irish Parenting Bloggers, I am talking about YOU. Being a stay at home parent can be a lonely, frustrating place, but you guys, YOU GUYS have made me feel part of a team again. And it is fecking fantastic. Thanks.

Lemon Drizzle Cake
This recipe makes me think I am the greatest cake baking whizz of all time, every time I make it.

The early morning
I know, I am a freak. I get up as early as I can to try to get a teensy bit of time to myself before the boys wake up. This time of year, it is still very dark outside as I am taking the only calm cup of coffee I will have that day, but those precious, QUIET moments are the ones I am most thankful for, every day.

Work
Oh working I missed you! I have two tiny commissions and I feel like I am editing Vogue. Thank you commissioning Gods for giving me some work, and please keep it coming – I feel alive again!

This minute, RIGHT NOW
My final joy pocket of the day is right now. Both boys are asleep. One will definitely wake up in a minute and a half and then cry and cry until the other is up and about, so right now, this second is the most peaceful and amazing one of the day. And I am SO SO FILLED WITH JOY!

What are you grateful for today? xxx

Check out more joy pockets on the Irish Parenting Bloggers Facebook Page

About Ciara McDonnell

Ouch My Fanny Hurts was born in the late stages of my first pregnancy. I was sick and tired of everyone going on and ON about how brilliant it is to be pregnant, when actually, lots of it was quite crap really. And, my fanny hurt a lot. So, I decided to tell the truth about my experience while I was pregnant, and the journey I have been on since, as our little fella grew a little bigger, and we brought our second son into the world in what turned out to be fairly scary circumstances. It’s my story, and I am delighted to share it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pockets filled with Joy

  1. Joanna says:

    Joy to the world…the babies are asleep! Enjoy your two minutes! I also used to get up really early to have a few moments to myself before the child onslaught, precious moments.

  2. Aw blush. We love you too! The group wouldn’t be the same without you.

  3. Lucy says:

    Thanks for your kind words, very touched! Welcome to Joy Pockets. I love to stash mine away through the wee. I’m really enjoying the Parenting Bloogers group, it’s a really special group of super-writer-mamas!

Leave a Reply

