It’s a blog post, but not as we know it…

I miss you! But I haven’t a second to write to you, so I have made a video. Let me know what you think! xxx

 

About Ciara McDonnell

Ouch My Fanny Hurts was born in the late stages of my first pregnancy. I was sick and tired of everyone going on and ON about how brilliant it is to be pregnant, when actually, lots of it was quite crap really. And, my fanny hurt a lot. So, I decided to tell the truth about my experience while I was pregnant, and the journey I have been on since, as our little fella grew a little bigger, and we brought our second son into the world in what turned out to be fairly scary circumstances. It’s my story, and I am delighted to share it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It’s a blog post, but not as we know it…

  1. Totally get it. It sounds superficial but how you look has a huge bearing on how you feel for the day so that 5 minutes putting on make up in the morning is actually really worth it. And may I also say that you look very lovely today πŸ™‚

  2. I think we have all been there (well not with two kids yet, but no doubt that is ahead of me next year). But I’ve certainly experienced the “oh god, can I hide behind this rack of clothes so that the shiny glammed up person from my past doesn’t see me looking like something the cat dragged in!” horror!

    Absolutely love the video. Was drinking a cuppa while I watched, and I felt like I was out for a chat and a coffee with a friend. Thanks for inviting us in! πŸ™‚

  3. Mike says:

    The best bit of advice I got when our 2nd came along is that is having 2 is like having 3. It is many levels of more complicated and it is easy to feel like your drowning. The simplest of things like with one your partner can give you a break. But with 2 that never seems like an option because you end up taking a child each. But you know what the tsunami passes much quicker than you realise (even if it doesn’t feel that way now).

  4. Ciara, please please do more of these! I love it. You’re a natural. There’s people who’d pay you good money to teach them how to do this!
    I have been that soldier in Dundrum many’s the time. You’re not alone. I even had the craziest experience recently where I arrived in first thing in the morning with the child to buy some new foundation when it was nice and quiet and the counter lady gave me a lovely makeover. 5 minutes later I bumped into a school friend who I hadn’t seen in 15 years and all the time we were chatting I was just thinking “thank God I have my face done” 😦 Sorry state of affairs.

  5. Maud says:

    So lovely to see you in person! (No, not in person. In action, I mean. Sigh. I think watching a video is real life, that’s what it’s come to.) I agree that taking a couple of minutes to put on jeans instead of tracksuit bottoms (my personal mark of “I’m respectable now”) and a swipe of lippie or whatever really makes you feel like you can take on a bit more in the day. Also, to reiterate as I’m sure many have told you, It Gets Better. You’re really in the trenches now. You’ll climb out, bit by bit. (And then you’ll say, what the heck, let’s have another. But that’s a different story.)

  6. Lisa says:

    Ahhh you look lovely!!!

    But I am afraid it doesn’t get better lovely, it just changes and you become a juggler of activities and hobbies, then a taxi driver *sighs*. Enjoy them while they are little and you are their world, who needs sleep anyway???

    Take care xx

  7. Joanna says:

    I have only seen this now. It’s really cool. Oh how I can relate. But you look fab, lovely to see you.

Leave a Reply

