Defiance

Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!

This, my darlings, is all that my almost-two-year-old says anymore. Well, except for “HERE. Cookie!!!”

Overnight, my sweet-tempered angel has transformed into a foot-stamping, glare-giving strop king. Yesterday, he stood screaming in the kitchen for a full forty minutes after I refused him a biscuit.

He is on hunger strike, refusing to eat anything that is not chocolate-coated, and while I am holding fast, refusing to give in – the monster on my shoulder keeps whispering “go on. go on. A little biscuit won’t kill you or him. Just give him the jaffa cake and he’ll stop screaming, and you won’t be worrying about the fact that he is going to die because he hasn’t eaten in three days”.

Well. I’ve got news for him. I’m not going to crack. I’ve read The Art of War, and this one hasn’t even begun. I am in it for the long haul people.

At least, I am right now. Because this very minute, he is asleep, the house is peaceful, and I am not weighed down by the screams and anguish that will no doubt be rained down on me in an hour’s time.

Wish me luck my friends. Once more into the breach I go.

I will not crack. I will not crack. I will not crack. 

About Ciara McDonnell

Ouch My Fanny Hurts was born in the late stages of my first pregnancy. I was sick and tired of everyone going on and ON about how brilliant it is to be pregnant, when actually, lots of it was quite crap really. And, my fanny hurt a lot. So, I decided to tell the truth about my experience while I was pregnant, and the journey I have been on since, as our little fella grew a little bigger, and we brought our second son into the world in what turned out to be fairly scary circumstances. It’s my story, and I am delighted to share it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Defiance

  1. Amy vickers says:

    I’m with you sister! It’s a nightmare. I’m just coming out of other end of this with my 3&half yr old. Now my 20month is refusing anything but biscuits !! Best to try to ignore it. Easier said than done!! Xx

  2. Joanna says:

    I can’t even sneak my own chocolate treats anymore, mine know the signs and pounce on me once the packet is opened. Good luck on your mission!

  3. john m says:

    Hide the cookie jar when he comes over

  4. Be strong Ciara, be strong! 🙂

Leave a Reply

