An Episode

I had a dose of the hormonals this week.

It started on Saturday when the fella told me that he is so traumatised by the births of our sons that he would have to seriously question whether he would be ok with us having any more kids… ever.

I totally get where he is coming from. Greys Anatomy would have had a field day during my labours, but given that I was teetering on the edge of  a hormonal episode, I took great offence to this, and went wallowing into my depths about how I could possibly go on without a third child.

Let me break it down for you:

Right now, this minute, we couldn’t possibly have another kid. It is not even REMOTELY in my normal frame of reference.

If we had another child we would have to:
1. Get a bigger car.
2. Get a bigger house.
3. Get more money, so that we could eat.
4. Most likely, get me some sort of plastic surgery to pick my stomach off the floor and staple it back where it belongs.

The reason why I am so concerned about this hormonal, and its significance, is that a year and a half ago I had a similar episode. Matthew was about six months old, and I started getting this rush of ‘I’d LOVE another baby. I really would’. Two months later, and I was prego again.

So. The fella has been banned from my personal space. We are taking major precautions here people. No accidental babies in our house, thank you very much. Not for at least four years, when the boys are reared enough to babysit. Or maybe three years…

But not now. Definitely not now.

About Ciara McDonnell

Ouch My Fanny Hurts was born in the late stages of my first pregnancy. I was sick and tired of everyone going on and ON about how brilliant it is to be pregnant, when actually, lots of it was quite crap really. And, my fanny hurt a lot. So, I decided to tell the truth about my experience while I was pregnant, and the journey I have been on since, as our little fella grew a little bigger, and we brought our second son into the world in what turned out to be fairly scary circumstances. It’s my story, and I am delighted to share it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An Episode

  1. gwen says:

    I never knew how scared Mister Husband was of pregnancy until I had a miscarraige. But I think it was that episode that opened his eyes too, to what can happen. I was always ok about pg, even afterwards, after the first three months of knicker watching that is, but he was always on edge right up until the baby was out of me. even then, he said the baby had to be about three months old before he could fully relax too. To look at him and see him when I was pg, and to see him with all of her boys when they were born, you would never, ever know this. But he said my m/c affected him greatly. Blood everywhere at home and coming out my trouser leg in the hospital. Me fainting, him being rushed out of the room with our then 11 month old in his arms. He said he didn’t know what was going to meet him or what he was going to be told when they puilled back that curtain. Regarding your decision, you have to do what works for you and your family. Best of luck. Please, PLEASE keep writing. I love your work.

Leave a Reply

