Dreaming Al Desko

Some weeks it’s easier than others to be a Stay At Home Mum. Some weeks its brilliant craic, when the kids are a laugh a minute and you are getting more than five hours kip a night.

Some weeks, like this week, it’s boring. BORING. There, I said it. And I’m not taking it back either. Take me out, and shoot me in the back garden for being a bad mother, but there are days when I have sang all the songs from Thomas The Tank and then made some recipe from Anabel STUPID Karmel that took fifteen hours and the kids threw it back at me and of course, changed ninety seven shitty nappies, that I beg, I CRAVE for a day at the office.

I want to smooth on some expensive foundation and know that a screed of it will still be there at 5pm. I want to sit at a desk and type, uninterrupted, for more than ten minutes. I want to swing a jaunty handbag filled only with the gorgeous accoutrement of lady-hood (phone, lip gloss, handbag-sized copy of Glamour). In the manner of Verucca Salt, I WANT I WANT I WANT.

I don’t regret my decision to stay at home with the boys for one tiny second, but some days, it’s nice to dream. And nice to know, that in five short years, they will be in school, and I will be at a desk somewhere. Hopefully somewhere cosmopolitan and amazing, but for now, the promise of a desk is enough. Oh, and a nice dress to wear at it.

About Ciara McDonnell

Ouch My Fanny Hurts was born in the late stages of my first pregnancy. I was sick and tired of everyone going on and ON about how brilliant it is to be pregnant, when actually, lots of it was quite crap really. And, my fanny hurt a lot. So, I decided to tell the truth about my experience while I was pregnant, and the journey I have been on since, as our little fella grew a little bigger, and we brought our second son into the world in what turned out to be fairly scary circumstances. It’s my story, and I am delighted to share it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dreaming Al Desko

  1. gwen says:

    A-fekin-men!!!!!!!! Oftentimes, too oftentimes, I say out loud “I can’t wait till ye are all at school!” And I mean it too!!!!!! Relate 101% to your post.

  2. Caítríona says:

    I’d love to be at a desk right now, in a dress, not in mom-jeans, not in walking boots. Sigh. Totally agree. x

  3. Christine says:

    Lovely. Hold onto that dream. “Annabel STUPID Karmel” made me laugh out loud.

  4. Colette says:

    Yeah, I KNOW!!!! This week I so wanted to be sitting at a nice clean desk, wearing HIGH-heeled shoes, a proper ‘work’ outfit…all the nice things! The reality of working from home…thank God noone really skypes or video calls me…sitting in tracksuit, lil one hanging off boob (to keep her quiet while i talk) and Peppa Pig on tv, toys, half eaten raisins/crackers/toast scattered everywhere…ah, even though it’s the hardest way i have ever earned a bit of money it’s mostly worth it when you get to see all the crazy, cute things that they do and hear the post school ‘BIG’ news first hand: who was on sheas amach and who said a bold word beginning with ‘sh’…

  5. IrishMum says:

    LOL! Lets hope you don’t decide to homeschool them 😉

Leave a comment