It’s a jungle out there

We went out for breakfast last weekend to one of those child friendly cafes that have a play area for the childers, but that they completely ignore and run riot through the place instead.

Anyway, the baby was quite content to sit in a high chair and take it all in, but true to form, the two year old pegged it off in search of something, or more importantly, someONE to play with.

“Matthew! Hi!”

Proudly beating his chest as he introduced himself, he did the rounds of the other kids, absolutely delighted with himself. Smiling, waving, showing them the toys that he had brought to the place.

Tumbleweed.

These Children of the Corn did not speak. Instead, they looked blankly THROUGH my little petal, as he was trying to talk to them, to make friends.

Thank God a two year old doesn’t know rejection. But I do. And my Jesus, did I feel it. All those insecurities from my early teenage years came whirling back up in my face and I felt… violent.

I wanted to shake these little beasts and shout at them about how amazing my kid was. That they would be LUCKY to play with such a child prodigy.

I didn’t. They were only about three, in fairness.

I am going to have to learn restraint before he starts school… otherwise there are going to be some uncomfortable moments at the school gate.

About Ciara McDonnell

Ouch My Fanny Hurts was born in the late stages of my first pregnancy. I was sick and tired of everyone going on and ON about how brilliant it is to be pregnant, when actually, lots of it was quite crap really. And, my fanny hurt a lot. So, I decided to tell the truth about my experience while I was pregnant, and the journey I have been on since, as our little fella grew a little bigger, and we brought our second son into the world in what turned out to be fairly scary circumstances. It’s my story, and I am delighted to share it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s a jungle out there

  1. Ah jaysus :(((
    It gets easier and easier again when they hunt in packs. Another few months and he”ll have his brother roaming with him.

  2. gwen says:

    Oh god. I feel your pain!!! My almost 4 year old is a real social butterfly and will talk to anyone. He literally RUNS at his 5.5 year old brothers school mates and they take a hasty step back with a “WTF is THAT?” look on their shocked faces. I’m all “THAT is Liam. And HE is wonderful! Bow down in his presence!” Liam is non the wiser and just carries on, thankfully.

  3. Your fella is perfect. It’s the children of the corn weirdos I’d be worried about 😉

Leave a Reply

