Getting a Life

The fella and I need to get a life. One between us would be grand, we’re not greedy.
Why do we need to get a life? Well, we’ve found ourselves in something of a rut…

Exhibit A)
This morning, we laughed our asses off at an episode of Ben and Holly. Because GENUINELY THOUGHT IT WAS HILARIOUS.

Exhibit B)
Last night, we had a full and fluid discussion about the amazing download speed of our internet connection.

Exhibit C)
This weekend, we are going to the cinema. In the afternoon. Because we go to sleep at 8pm. Every night.

I can blame the tiny people, and it would be truthful enough to say that they have stolen our lives. It would also be truthful to say that we don’t actually MIND. We are in this rut, but we kind of like it.

So, I am breaking out the big guns. I have organised a night out IN TOWN. I will wear glittery eye liner. I will drink many vodka and tonics. I may or may not visit Ricks of Dame Street at 1am for a burger. I will have deep and meaningfuls with complete strangers in the jacks of pubs so obscenely cool that they don’t even have a NAME. I will sway in front of a busker on Grafton Street, nodding my head exactly two beats out of time with the tune. I will suggest going to Ukiyo for Karaoke at 3am, but secretly sly into a taxi before we get there. I will tell the taxi driver my whole life story, and then, just before I slink out of the door, accuse him of ripping me off by taking me home the long way.

Look out Dublin, I’m coming to get you. Soon. Ish.

About Ciara McDonnell

Ouch My Fanny Hurts was born in the late stages of my first pregnancy. I was sick and tired of everyone going on and ON about how brilliant it is to be pregnant, when actually, lots of it was quite crap really. And, my fanny hurt a lot. So, I decided to tell the truth about my experience while I was pregnant, and the journey I have been on since, as our little fella grew a little bigger, and we brought our second son into the world in what turned out to be fairly scary circumstances. It’s my story, and I am delighted to share it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Getting a Life

  1. Mike says:

    Based on past experience, night out may proceed as follows…
    8pm… I wonder how the kids are doing? Maybe we should ring? They should be fine right?
    9pm… I really need to slow down on the drink, it’s going straight to my head. What I’ve only had 1???
    10pm… Oh, I’m starting to feel really sleepy. And you know the kids will be up at 7…
    10:30pm… You know if we go for a taxi now, we’ve a better chance of getting one than later…
    11:30pm… That was a good night out, we should do it again sometime… zzzzzzzzzzz……
    🙂

  2. I think Mike got it in one 😉

  3. What’s this Rick’s business? It’s Zaytoon’s all the way baby

Leave a Reply

