Nearly Dying. AGAIN

Last Friday, I nearly killed Mikey, by not catching him as he rolled head first down the entire flight of stairs in our house. This is made worse by the fact that two and a half years ago, I nearly killed Matthew, by not catching him as he rolled head first down the entire flight of stairs in our house.

I can confirm that when you are standing on the top step, watching your child almost die, everything goes blurry and into slow motion, and you can hear yourself screaming, but it doesn’t sound like you. It sounds like a dog yelping after it’s been run over.

I drove him to the hospital, with the fella and Matthew. Matthew kept parroting “Mikey rolled and rolled and rolled, but I didn’t catch him”. Jesus Christ.

Mikey, hard of head and brute of force, of course was fine. He may have shucked off another of his nine lives, but he was running around A&E, making a mockery of us within twenty minutes of being there.

We stayed for observation for the allotted number of hours, showing the boys around the hospital that we know so well. I had a little cry in the toilet, and while I was sitting in the cubicle, realised that I had cried in this exact cubicle many, many times. I spoke to parents who are living there with their sick children, and counted my blessings as my two whooped and cheered at the giant fish tank outside Nazareth Ward, where I know very very sick children lie.

So, we are lucky ducks. And I spent the weekend beating myself about nearly killing my kids, tearfully roaring at the fella: “I KNOW you think I’m a shit mother. I KNOW you blame me”.

Anyway, he’s grand. But he needs to stop this living in the fast lane business. And obviously, I need to stop throwing my kids down the stairs.

The cuteness monster in all his cat-of-nine-lives glory

The cuteness monster in all his cat-of-nine-lives glory

About Ciara McDonnell

Ouch My Fanny Hurts was born in the late stages of my first pregnancy. I was sick and tired of everyone going on and ON about how brilliant it is to be pregnant, when actually, lots of it was quite crap really. And, my fanny hurt a lot. So, I decided to tell the truth about my experience while I was pregnant, and the journey I have been on since, as our little fella grew a little bigger, and we brought our second son into the world in what turned out to be fairly scary circumstances. It’s my story, and I am delighted to share it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nearly Dying. AGAIN

  1. I am convinced that our local emergency doctor service has a warning that comes up about head injuries when I say my name. My boys are about to turn 4 and 6 and I haven’t killed them yet. The small girl. Went backwards down the stairs at 10 months (WHO left the stair gate open???) and I was afraid to look. Parenting is scary, but accidents happen. Constantly.

  2. Makes MY head hurt even thinking about what YOU must have, and are, going through in your head. I think you need to plan buying a bungalow 😉

  3. Just for future reference. Ensure they never stand up the front at hurling matches. My littlest brother managed to split his head open watching a hurling match (I’m pretty sure he has frequent flyer points for A&E over the years, he’s that accident prone).I split mine open twice by the time I was six, and no harm done. Maybe a bungalow though, if the budget stretches…

  4. You poor thing, I read that holding my breath! We have all missed things, it is impossible not to when living with a Danger Mouse! I’m glad he is OK and I hope that you are now too!

Leave a Reply

