Good news, and YAAAY IT’S WINTER

First of all, thank you to all the people who took the time to email, comment, Facebook or tweet me about the night terrors; you absolutely can’t know how much it has helped us. We have had marvellous success with Indigo Essences, and understanding what actually happens when you have a night terror (from people who still suffer from them) has enabled us to help Mikey through them. Things are looking up.

In more ways than one, because IT IS WINTER. This is amazing on so many levels. Mainly, because I can stop pretending that I’m not fat, and casually eat cake and cloak myself in giant, drapey knitwear that has no problem with my flab. It is JOYOUS.

Also, food. I LOVE winter food. I love cooking it, I love the way my house smells when I am slow cooking something amazingly delicious, and mostly, I love feeding people during the winter months. Rib-sticking roasts, baked hams, cheesy broccoli gratins – they are all firmly back on our weekly menu, and I am flipping delighted.

Lastly, wine. OH WINE. For the last few years, the fella and I have been very abstemious, barely touching a drop. Sure with the lack of sleep and constantly screaming babies, there was a year or two where we could barely lift our heads to say hello before flopping on the couch with a family-sized Turkish Delight and an episode of Grey’s Anatomy. During the summer, we brought back wine night, and it has been a revelation. We are back to having a laugh and a chat and all the things that a relationship should have, but mostly gets sidelined when the little people take over.

So there you are now. Hope you’re having a good week, and not wanting to die because it’s Midterm and the kids are going mad and the floor is all wet because it’s raining in a biblical fashion.

About Ciara McDonnell

Ouch My Fanny Hurts was born in the late stages of my first pregnancy. I was sick and tired of everyone going on and ON about how brilliant it is to be pregnant, when actually, lots of it was quite crap really. And, my fanny hurt a lot. So, I decided to tell the truth about my experience while I was pregnant, and the journey I have been on since, as our little fella grew a little bigger, and we brought our second son into the world in what turned out to be fairly scary circumstances. It’s my story, and I am delighted to share it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Good news, and YAAAY IT’S WINTER

  1. Great to hear things are looking up. And ladeeee you’re not fat, but enjoy the cake and wine and woolies all the same

  2. I love winter food too! Wine night is great. We don’t drink here, but we do try to have one night a week where we have dinner by ourselves (at home, we’re poor!) and chat, no TV or radio or phones. It varies week to week and sometimes it’s not dinner, sometimes it’s lighting some candles in the sitting room and actively watching a film together, not just having the TV on in the background. It helps to have some ‘us’ time and it really does recharge the batteries. Really happy things are looking up for your little fella.

  3. office mum says:

    Oh totally with you on the winter food – I’ve been cooking “proper” food all week in celebration of winter food. But I am mostly here to say – STOP – you’re not fat, so don’t say you are! Enjoy wine night – clink clink

  4. Sophie says:

    Adore winter food too. And it’s Christmas soon. Oh and I am a big fan of yours and so glad you are back!

Leave a Reply

